Home > Life > The green soup

The green soup

Bente Haarstad Photography

nesler_nettle_cjw-4

There is a lot of free food around this time of the year, and some of the weeds are among the best. And healthiest. Nettle soup is one of my favorites, with or without other species of weeds. The nettles just started to grow where I live, that means they are absolutely best for food now. I use gloves of course when I pick them, it is for a reason they are given the name stinging nettles, and i just pick the top of the plants.

nesler_nettle_cjw-10

There are many recipes around. My advice is to keep it simple, and the recipe I use is about like this:

200 g nettles already cleaned and blanched

1 small onion

1 spoon of butter

1 spoon of flour

1 liter broth

1/4 teaspoon white pepper

salt if necessary

1 dl cream

I rinse the nettles in cold water before I blanche them, that…

View original post 240 more words

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

