Home > Life, Poem > Generation Frustrations: Understanding the Generational Divide

Generation Frustrations: Understanding the Generational Divide

Chapter TK

When I was in high school, I had a lot of pride for my poems. While I was afraid to share any of them until the end of my grade school education, I still had a lot of pride in them. It’s funny looking back and seeing just how young I sound.

There is something unique about my work, though. This uncommon element would eventually lead me to a state speech contest my senior year. My poems didn’t just complain. As I’ve said before, they were my way of understanding the world. While this piece opens sounding very stereotypical, it reaches an end rare for a teenager to realize.

This poem was written on August 17th, 2004. I was a freshman in high school and was 14-years old.

Generational Frustrations

I am here

I stand before you

Unwilling and unwanting

Saddened and confused

I am stronger than you think

I’m…

View original post 449 more words

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

